Thursday, August 18, 2022
Follow us on
गुजरात विधानसभा चुनाव: AAP ने जारी की दूसरी लिस्ट, अब तक 19 उम्मीदवारों के नाम घोषितपहले वनडे में टीम इंडिया की बड़ी जीत, जिम्बाब्वे को 10 विकेट से हरायासिक्किम विधानसभा के अध्यक्ष एल. बी. दास ने दिया इस्तीफा : सूत्रमहंगाई के खिलाफ कांग्रेस की बड़ी रैली 28 अगस्त की जगह अब 4 सितंबर को होगी13 सितंबर को पंचायत चुनाव की सूचना महज अफवाह, राज्य चुनाव आयोग ने नहीं जारी की कोई अधिसूचनाराजू श्रीवास्तव की हालत अब भी नाजुक, दिमाग ने अब तक नहीं किया रिस्पांसकॉमेडियन राजू श्रीवास्तव की हालत पहले से ज्यादा खराब, ब्रेन डेड की स्थिति में पहुंचेपहला वनडे: जिम्बाब्वे 189 के स्कोर पर ऑलआउट, दीपक चाहर ने लिए 3 विकेट
Bachon Ke Liye

Ex-CJI Gogoi to enter Rajya Sabha as President’s nominee

March 17, 2020 07:05 AM


Ex-CJI Gogoi to enter Rajya Sabha as President’s nominee

HT Correspondent

New Delhi : Exactly four months after his retirement, former Chief Justice of India (CJI) Ranjan Gogoi will enter the Rajya Sabha as a nominated member, with President Ram Nath Kovind nominating him as a member of the Upper House on Monday.

Justice Gogoi will be the first former CJI to become a nominated member of the Rajya Sabha. He will also be the second CJI to become a Rajya Sabha MP after justice Ranganath Misra. Misra was elected as a Congress MP from Odisha. Justice Misra, however, became a Rajya Sabha member in 1998, nearly seven years after his retirement from the Supreme Court in November 1991.

A gazette notification issued by the Union home ministry said: “In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-clause (a) of clause (1) of article 80 of the Constitution of India, read with clause (3) of that article, the President is pleased to nominate Shri Ranjan Gogoi to the Council of States to fill the vacancy caused due to the retirement of one of the nominated members.”

In the Upper House, there are berths for 10 nominated members. KTS Tulsi, nominated in the UPA-era, has finished his term in February 2020 and Gogoi will fill up the vacancy.

The other nominated members of the Upper House include MC Mary Kom, Swapan Dasgupta, Sonal Mansingh and Dr Narendra Jadhav.

CJI Gogoi had retired from office on November 17, 2019. His tenure at the helm was controversial, with a sexual harassment allegation raised against him by a Supreme Court staffer who also claimed she had been terminated from service after she spoke up.

The allegations were dismissed by an internal committee constituted by the Supreme Court.

The complainant was later reinstated in service after the current CJI SA Bobde took over.

Have something to say? Post your comment