Sunday, April 21, 2019
Follow us on
Life Style

Amid high drama, BJP announces Tejasvi Surya for B’luru South seat

March 26, 2019 07:23 AM


NAmid high drama, BJP announces Tejasvi Surya for B’luru South seat
Congress Fields Byregowda from Bengaluru North


In a late-night development, the BJP on Monday decided to field L S Tejasvi Surya, nephew of Basavanagudi MLA Ravi Subramanya, from Bengaluru South constituency.

A “rising” star in the BJP ranks, Surya, 28, is Karnataka BJP youth wing general secretary. Surya will take on Congress veteran B K Hariprasad.

Earlier, supporters of Tejaswini Ananth Kumar staged a dharna outside her V V Puram home over a likely denial of ticket. Surya’s candidature may raise a lot of eyebrows and is likely to divide the Bengaluru South party cadre. BJP also announced the name of former MLC Ashwath Narayan from Bengaluru Rural where he will face D K Suresh, brother of Congress troubleshooter D K Shivakumar.

Congress decided to field rural development minister Krishna Byregowda for Bengaluru North LS constituency, returned by coalition partner JD(S). Byregowda will file his nomination on Tuesday. He will take on Union minister D V Sadananda Gowda, who is seeking a second term from the constituency.

Congress leaders Siddaramaiah, G Parameshwara, D K Shivakumar, Dinesh Gundurao and other senior party leaders finalized Byregowda’s name

Have something to say? Post your comment